

British Group of the
Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence
(International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk

www.lique.org

31st January, 2014

Dear Member,

Evening Meeting at Withers LLP on Thursday 13th March, 2014 at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Thursday 13th March** at **Withers LLP**, **16 Old Bailey, London EC4M 7EG**. Registration for the event will start at 6pm followed by the lecture at 6:15pm.

Johanna Gibson and John Noble have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

"Lookalikes – an unfair practice and unfair competition?"

Johanna Gibson is Herchel Smith Professor of Intellectual Property Law and Director of the Queen Mary Intellectual Property Research Institute (QMIPRI) in the Centre for Commercial Law Studies (CCLS). Johanna is also Chair of the Intellectual Property Office Expert Advisory Committee on Trade and Development and a member of the DG-Research and Innovation expert panel on international knowledge transfer. Before joining CCLS, Johanna practised law in Melbourne, Australia at Allens Arthur Robinson, specialising in Intellectual Property, Media and Communications Law and Competition Law.

John Noble is Director of the British Brands Group, a membership organisation that provides the collective voice for brand manufacturers in the UK. The Group was founded in 1994 to promote the values and benefits of brands to consumers, the economy, and society, as well as to represent brand manufacturers collectively on policy issues. John is a Chartered Marketer and, prior to joining the British Brands Group, followed a marketing career that started with British Airways before moving into marketing consultancy with Marketing Solutions. He then became Head of Marketing for Hamptons, the property firm, and held a senior marketing role with Bristol & West International.

The session will be chaired by **Kenneth Mullen**, a Partner in the IP department of Withers LLP.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Kennedys: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: j.robinson@kennedys-law.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Telephone: 07947 613275; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	



Competition Law Association

British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

> www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

The session will be followed by drinks and canapés. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on Wednesday 12th March. Tickets will not be issued for this event

With Kind Regards,

Sharon Horwitz

Secretary

CHAIRMAN:

James Flynn QC

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Susan Singleton Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL: **George Peretz** Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com TREASURER: Jeremy Robinson Kennedys: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: j.robinson@kennedys-law.com SECRETARY: Sharon Horwitz Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk Telephone: 07947 613275; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com Jenny Block **PUBLICITY SECRETARY:** ADMINISTRATOR: Suzanne Snook Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.

Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk