

British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

21 October, 2014

Dear Member,

## Evening Meeting at Withers LLP on Thursday 13th November at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Thursday 13<sup>th</sup> November, 2014** at **Withers LLP**, 16 Old Bailey, London EC4M 7EG. Registration for the event will start at 6pm followed by the lecture at 6:15pm.

Amanda Michaels has kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

## "Non-traditional trade marks"

Amanda Michaels is a member of Hogarth Chambers and has a wealth of experience in a broad field of practice, ranging from trade marks and passing off, copyright and designs, breach of confidence and related commercial disputes in the media and entertainment field, to broader contractual and Chancery disputes. She has acted for multinational brand and copyright owners, film, TV and record companies, and collecting societies, as well as for SMEs and individuals in disputes in the music/record industry, films, advertising, television, and publishing, often involving issues of contract or partnership law. She deals with a wide variety of copyright and design disputes, many in the fashion industry, and contractual/property disputes of all kinds.

Amanda is especially well-known as a trade mark specialist, dealing with trade mark and passing off matters at all levels, in UK and Community Courts and Registries. She sits as an Appointed Person under the Trade Marks Act 1994 hearing appeals from the UKIPO and as a Recorder.

She is the author with Andrew Norris of 'A Practical Guide to Trade Mark Law' the 5th edition of which was published by OUP in March 2014.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	



British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

The meeting will be followed by drinks and canapés. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). Registrations should be completed and (where applicable) paid online at www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk. One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on Wednesday 12th November. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With kind regards,

**Sharon Horwitz** 

Secretary

CHAIRMAN:

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com Susan Singleton NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL: George Peretz Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com TREASURER: Jeremy Robinson Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com SECRETARY: Sharon Horwitz CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com PUBLICITY SECRETARY: Jenny Block ADMINISTRATOR: Suzanne Snook Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk OTHER COMMITTEE Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani,

Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk

MEMBERS: Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.

James Flynn QC