

British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

24th April, 2015

Dear Member,

## Evening Meeting at Competition Appeal Tribunal on Monday 18<sup>th</sup> May at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Monday 18<sup>th</sup> May** at the **Competition Appeal Tribunal**, Victoria House, Bloomsbury Place, London, WC1A 2EB. Registration for the event will start at 6pm and the panel discussion will start at 6:15pm.

Given that the Intellectual Property Enterprise Court has been cited as a source of inspiration for the fast track CAT procedure, it is entirely appropriate that the CAT is now hosting **HHJ Richard Hacon**, **District Judge Melissa Clarke and Angela Fox** who have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

## "Intellectual Property Enterprise Court Practice"

A panel discussion to include do's and don'ts when handling cases in the IPEC, how to approach damages inquiries and accounts of profits, and an update on costs in the IPEC.

His Honour Judge Richard Hacon was appointed as the first full time judge of the new Intellectual Property Enterprise Court in December 2013. Whilst at the bar Richard acted in cases covering all aspects of intellectual property law. He has appeared as a barrister in the English courts at all levels, in the European Court of Justice and the European Court of First Instance. He has also appeared regularly before the European Patent Office.

**District Judge Melissa Clarke** is a specialist Chancery District Judge based at the County Court at Central London. She is one of three District Judges responsible for hearing IPEC small claims alongside her general chancery, insolvency and companies jurisdictions. She also sits as a Recorder in Crime and as a deputy High Court judge in Chancery (IPEC). Previously Melissa was a solicitor. She specialised in intellectual property, telecoms, media and IT work at Linklaters LLP from 1994-

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz QC	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	



## **Competition Law Association**

British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

2002. She left Linklaters to co-found a telecoms software company, Incomit AB. As VP Business Affairs she helped grow it from start-up to successful trade sale to BEA Systems, Inc. in 2005.

**Angela Fox** is a partner in RGC Jenkins & Co's trade mark and litigation groups. She specialises in intellectual property litigation and matters involving trade marks and domain names. Angela counsels clients on disputes, brand protection, strategy and enforcement, and has extensive experience in clearing and protecting trade marks and in handling domain name and company name disputes and matters relating to trade mark infringement and passing off, including litigation, advocacy, opinion and advisory work. Angela is the author of "The Intellectual Property Enterprise Court: Practice and Procedure" which was published in June 2014.

Refreshments will be provided. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). Registrations should be completed and (where applicable) paid online at www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk. One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on Friday 15<sup>th</sup> May. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With Kind Regards,

Sharon Horwitz Secretary

CHAIRMAN: James Flynn QC Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Susan Singleton Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com

NATIONAL REPORTER George Peretz QC Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com

GENERAL:

TREASURER: Jeremy Robinson Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com

SECRETARY: Sharon Horwitz CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk

PUBLICITY SECRETARY: Jenny Block Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com

ADMINISTRATOR: Suzanne Snook Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.