

7th April, 2015

Dear Member,

Lunchtime Meeting at Herbert Smith Freehills on 20 May at 1pm

The CLA will be holding a lunchtime meeting on **Wednesday 20th May** at **Herbert Smith Freehills**, Exchange House, Primrose Street, London, EC2A 2EG. Registration for the event will start at 12:30pm and the talk will begin at 1pm.

Christine Tacon has kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

"The role of the Groceries Code Adjudicator"

Christine Tacon was appointed by the Government as the first Groceries Code Adjudicator (GCA) in June 2013 to oversee implementation of the Groceries Supply Code of Practice. The Code is designed to regulate the relationship between the 10 large grocery retailers and their direct suppliers. She is working to achieve behaviour change and a more equitable relationship between retailers and suppliers through persuasion and the promotion of good practices. However she also has the power to investigate potential breaches of the Code and impose heavy penalties for such breaches. Indeed, in February 2015, the GCA announced her first investigation into Tesco plc having formed a reasonable suspicion that the company had breached the Code in two areas. This makes Christine's talk highly topical.

Christine's professional background is as a Chartered Engineer with 12 years' experience in sales and marketing in the fast moving consumer goods sector. Her early career was with Coats Viyella, Mars, Anchor and Vodafone. For 11 years until 2012 she ran the Co-operative Group's farming business, the largest in the UK. She was awarded a CBE for services to agriculture in 2004.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz QC	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers,	



British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law) www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

A sandwich lunch will be provided before the talk. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). Registrations should be completed and (where applicable) paid online at www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk. One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on 19th May. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With Kind Regards,

Sharon Horwitz Secretary

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz QC	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	