

British Group of the
Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence
(International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk

www.lique.org

11 April, 2014

Dear Member.

Evening Meeting at Herbert Smith Freehills LLP on Tuesday 20th May, 2014 at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Tuesday 20th May** at **Herbert Smith Freehills**, **Exchange House**, **Primrose Street**, **London EC2A 2HS**. Registration for the event will start at 6pm followed by the lecture at 6:15pm.

We are delighted to announce that this event will be held jointly with our French sister organisation, the Association Française D'étude de la Concurrence, whose members will be joining us through a live video link.

Didier Théophile, Stephen Wisking and **Josh Holmes** have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

"Pay TV under the competition regulators' scrutiny – the French and UK perspectives"

Didier Théophile is a partner based in Paris at the firm Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier. He is the founder and head of the firm's antitrust and competition law practice. His practice covers all aspects of competition law from advisory work to litigation, including matters of merger control, non-merger conduct and state aid. Mr. Théophile frequently represents clients before the European and French competition authorities and courts and has vast experience in large cross-border transactions and high-profile antitrust litigation. He is particularly recognised for his antitrust law expertise in regulated sectors, such as media, telecoms, the banking industry and postal services.

Stephen Wisking is a partner at Herbert Smith Freehills who practises in all aspects of competition law. He has extensive experience in contentious competition matters including cartels, market investigations and competition litigation (follow-on damages, stand-alone litigation and regulatory appeals) as well as providing non-contentious strategic competition advice and advising on mergers. He has been involved in numerous competition disputes and in numerous cases in the Competition

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Kennedys: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: j.robinson@kennedys-law.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Telephone: 07947 613275; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	



Competition Law Association

British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

Appeal Tribunal (CAT) since its inception in 2001. He is a qualified solicitor advocate and has appeared as an advocate in the CAT. His particular sectoral experience is in relation to media (particularly broadcasting), telecoms, energy and pharmaceuticals and professional services.

Josh Holmes is a member of Monckton Chambers. His practice covers all aspects of competition, EU, public and regulatory work. He has considerable background knowledge of the EU institutions, having spent time working in both the European Commission (DG Comp) and the European Court of Justice. He is a visiting lecturer at Kings College London and at Oxford University, where he teaches competition law.

The session will be followed by drinks and canapés. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on Monday 19th May. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With Kind Regards,

Sharon Horwitz

Secretary

CHAIRMAN: James Flynn QC Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Susan Singleton Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com

NATIONAL REPORTER George Peretz Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com GENERAL:

TREASURER: Jeremy Robinson

Kennedys: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: j.robinson@kennedys-law.com

SECRETARY: Sharon Horwitz Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk

PUBLICITY SECRETARY: Jenny Block Telephone: 07947 613275; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com

ADMINISTRATOR: Suzanne Snook Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.