

British Group of the Lique Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

8<sup>th</sup> May, 2014

Dear Member.

## Evening Meeting at Arnold & Porter LLP on Thursday 26<sup>th</sup> June at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on Thursday 26th June 2014 at Arnold & Porter LLP, Tower 42, 25 Old Broad Street, London EC2N 1HQ. Registration for the event will start at 6pm followed by the lecture at 6:15pm.

Spyros Maniatis, Alastair Mackay and Jonathan Griffiths have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

"Enlarged health warning and plain packaging for cigarettes:

Are the IP and competition issues being ignored?"

Spyros Maniatis is Professor of Intellectual Property and Director of the Centre for Commercial Law Studies at Queen Mary University of London. He is co-author of "Trade Marks, Trade Names, and Unfair Competition World Law and Practice" and "Trade Marks in Europe: a Practical Jurisprudence".

Alastair Mackay is Corporate Affairs Manager for Philip Morris International (PMI) in the UK. Since joining PMI in 2013 he has represented the company on a range of fiscal and regulatory issues. Earlier in his career he spent several years practising as a solicitor in London and Brussels, specialising in competition law.

Jonathan Griffiths is a Reader in Intellectual Property Law at Queen Mary University. He specialises in intellectual property law (particularly copyright law) and information law. He has published widely on comparative copyright law and on the relationship between intellectual property and fundamental rights. He is currently working on projects on the Court of Justice of the European Union's development of copyright law and on plain packaging legislation and the concept of expropriation.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	



British Group of the Lique Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

> www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

The meeting will be followed by drinks and canapés. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). Registrations should be completed applicable) paid online at www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk. One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on Wednesday 25th June. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With Kind Regards,

**Sharon Horwitz** Secretary

CHAIRMAN:

James Flynn QC Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk VICE-CHAIRMAN: Susan Singleton Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL: George Peretz Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com Jeremy Robinson Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com TREASURER: SECRETARY: Sharon Horwitz Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com **PUBLICITY SECRETARY:** Jenny Block ADMINISTRATOR: Suzanne Snook Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.