

25<sup>th</sup> March, 2014

Dear Member,

## Evening Meeting at Keating Chambers on Tuesday 29<sup>th</sup> April, 2014 at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Tuesday 29<sup>th</sup> April** at **Keating Chambers, 15 Essex Street, London WC2R 3AA**. Registration for the event will start at 6pm followed by the lecture at 6:15pm.

Jonathan Blackburn, Alastair Mordaunt and Simon Taylor have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

## "Competition law and procurement in the healthcare sector: recent developments"

**Jonathan Blackburn** heads the team of laywers which supports Monitor's competition related functions. Before joining Monitor Jonathan was Legal Director at the Cooperation and Competition Panel since January 2012. Jonathan came to the health sector from the Competition Commission where he spent 5 years advising on merger inquiries and market investigations in a wide range of industries. Before that Jonathan spent 10 years at a City law firm in the EU, Competition and Regulatory team. He spent a year on secondment to Ofcom in 2004.

**Alastair Mordaunt** is a partner at Clifford Chance specialising in UK and Competition Law, in particular mergers and acquisitions, joint ventures, cartels and abuses of market power across a wide range of industry sectors. Alastair joined Clifford Chance from the Office of Fair Trading where he was Director of a dedicated competition enforcement team and previously Director of Mergers. Before joining the OFT, Alastair spent several years in private practice advising on merger and antitrust matters before the UK, EU and US antitrust authorities.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Telephone: 07947 613275; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	



## Competition Law Association British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law) www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

**Simon Taylor** is a member of Keating Chambers, he returned to the Bar in 2012 after 20 years of practising in Brussels and London as a solicitor in competition and public procurement law. His procurement practice combines acting on disputes for bidders and authorities and strategic advice on the conduct of tenders. His competition and state aid practice covers disputes, transactions and conduct. He has specific expertise in the healthcare sector and regularly advises NHS bodies and private providers on competition and procurement matters.

The session will be followed by drinks and canapés. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on Monday 28<sup>th</sup> April. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With Kind Regards,

Sharon Horwitz Secretary

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Telephone: 07947 613275; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC,  Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	