

22<sup>nd</sup> January 2015

Dear Member,

## Evening Meeting at Hausfeld & Co. LLP on 5 February at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **5 February**, **2015** at **Hausfeld & Co. LLP**, 12 Gough Square, London, EC4A 3DW. Registration for the event will start at 6pm and the panel discussion will start at 6:15pm.

We are delighted to announce that this event will be held jointly with our Spanish sister organisation, the Asociación Española de Defensa de la Competencia, whose members will be joining us through a live video link.

Andrew Bullion, Laura John & José María Jiménez-Laiglesia have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

## "Private litigation in Spain and the UK"

Andrew Bullion a founding partner of Hausfeld, brings two decades' experience successfully litigating complex competition, securities derivative, and other matters on behalf of corporate claimants and defendants. Andrew has represented some of the world's most recognisable undertakings in proceedings before the UK High Court and the Competition Appeals Tribunal, several additional European jurisdictions, and the US Federal District Courts. Holding a post-graduate diploma in EU competition law from Kings College London, Andrew also clerked for the US Federal Trade Commission Bureau of Competition, and for Advokatfirman Vinge KB, Sweden's largest law firm. Fluent in Swedish, Andrew is licensed as an attorney in Washington DC and US District Courts, and as a solicitor in the courts of England & Wales.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	



## Competition Law Association British Group of the Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law) www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk

www.ligue.org

**Laura John** is a specialist Competition law barrister, and a member of Monckton Chambers in London. She has acted as counsel in a group of the most important competition cases litigated in England and Wales in recent years, including *National Grid Electricity Transmission–v- ABB* (gas insulated switchgear), *Welsh Ministers –v- Servier* (Perindopril) and *Emerald Supplies–v- British Airways* (Air Freight). She is the Updates Editor of the UK's leading text on EU Competition law, Bellamy & Child *European Union Law of Competition*.

**José María Jiménez-Laiglesia** is a Competition and Litigation Partner at DLA Piper. He has experience in all competition law related matters before Spanish and European authorities and Courts and has also intervened in various damage litigation cases following European Commission cartel decisions.

The meeting will be followed by drinks and canapés. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers). Registrations should be completed and (where applicable) paid online at www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk. One CPD point will be available.

On-line registration will close on 4<sup>th</sup> February. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With Kind Regards,

Sharon Horwitz Secretary

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Hill Dickinson LLP: Telephone: 020 7280 9195; Email: Jeremy.Robinson@hilldickinson.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers.	