

29<sup>th</sup> April 2013

Dear Member

## Annual General Meeting and Evening Meeting – Wednesday 22 May 2013 at 6pm

The 2013 Annual General Meeting of the Association will be held on **Wednesday 22 May 2013** at the offices of **Arnold & Porter UK LLP**, International Financial Centre, 25 Old Broad Street, London EC2N 1HQ. Registration for the event will start at **5:45pm** followed by the AGM and lecture at **6pm**.

A copy of the Notice of the AGM is attached together with draft minutes of last year's AGM. Please note that there will be an election of Officers and other Committee Members this year, the details of which are enclosed.

Any member of the Association wishing to propose a resolution for consideration at the AGM may do so by giving 7 clear day's notice in writing to the Secretary of his/her intention to do so. Please note that associate members of the Association are not able to propose a resolution for consideration at the AGM.

The AGM is being held in conjunction with an evening meeting, which will be on the following subject:

## Series on Procedural Rights: Part II:

## "Getting hold of the documents: Legal principles for disclosure in the anti-trust context"

## Speakers: Kassie Smith QC and Eddy de Smijter

**Kassie Smith QC** is a member of Monckton Chambers and specialises in competition/regulatory, EU and public law. She has appeared in over 30 cases before the European Court of Justice. Until taking silk in 2013, she was a member of the Attorney General's A Panel.

**Eddy de Smijter** is the Deputy Head of Unit A1 Private Enforcement DG Competition in the European Commission based in Brussels. He joined the European Commission in 2001 as a member of the negotiation team on Regulation 1/2003. He stayed within the ECN unit until his move, in 2005, to the team that is responsible for the Commission policy initiative on antitrust damages actions. In that capacity, he co-authored both the Commission's Green and White Paper on private actions in the competition law context.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Gates & Partners: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: jrobinson@gatesandpartners.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC,  Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers, Irina von Wiese	



The presentations and discussion following the AGM will last for about an hour, followed by drinks and canapés. There will be a charge for non-members who wish to attend: £50 or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (student, trainees, pupil barristers). One CPD point will be available.

Please visit our website at www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk to register your attendance. Please note that on-line registration will close on Tuesday 21 May. Tickets will not be issued.

Finally, if you are not yet a member of the CLA and would like to join, please visit the membership section of our website to complete your on-line registration.

With kind regards

Sharon Horwitz

Secretary

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Susan Singleton	Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	George Peretz	Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Gates & Partners: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: jrobinson@gatesandpartners.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jenny Block	Pinsent Masons: Telephone: 020 7490 9685; Email: jennyblock@virginmedia.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Christopher Stothers, Irina von Wiese	